Print Email

Terry Vaughn Referee Academy


The 2022 Terry Vaughn Referee Academy (TVRA) is quickly approaching. To assist us with our preparation, please take the following short survey – it should take less than 5 minutes to complete.

The purpose of the survey is to gain an understanding of the demographics of the individuals who are planning to attend. The exact weekend date is still TBD but will be between February 12 and March 20.


2022 Terry Vaughn Referee Academy Survey

The 2021 TVRA was held last February 21. Read below to learn more about this annual event.

Hope you can attend in 2022!

I want to extend an invitation to all Iowa soccer referees, youth, high school, adult, college and professional, to one of the greatest learning opportunities in the country – the Terry Vaughn Referee Academy (TVRA).

The TVRA is the premier soccer training event in the state of Iowa and one of the largest single day referee training events in the United States. And, it's FREE!
Date: Sunday, February 21, 2021
Location: This TVRA will be a virtual Zoom Meeting.
Time: 9:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. CST (Sign on starts at 8:30 a.m.)
Guest Speakers: Chris Penso, Tori Penso, Drew Fischer, and Sandra Serafini
Corporate Sponsors: Official Sports International (OSI) and NASO / Referee Magazine
refs-OSI-Logo refs-Neverends refs-NASO

Our last academy was in 2019. Over 500 referees were in attendance! Go to 2019 TVRA for information about the guest speakers, their presentation topics, the schedule / format for the day, sponsors' offers, T-Shirts, … . You won't want to miss this event in 2021!

Once again, we will have a strong cadre of Referees and Instructors representing FIFA, PRO, and NISOA:

These distinguished speakers are doing this for YOU – all to help you become a better referee. The only thing that will keep you from tapping into this vast storehouse of soccer refereeing knowledge is you. Please take advantage of this opportunity and join us!

IMPORTANT: You must register for the TVRA by clicking on the registration button below. This is the only way that you will receive your Zoom link from Neverends for this virtual event.



The academy will get underway promptly at 9:00 a.m. Be early – sign on starts at 8:30. 2, 15 minute breaks are built-in – one in the morning and another one in the afternoon. Breaks for prize giveaways have also been included. We will pause at 11:30 for an hour for lunch. Mentors and Instructors are scheduled to have a working lunch with Sandra Serafini.
(All times are Central Standard Time)

OSI TVRA Specials

Support Terry Vaughn and family with 2021 TVRA products. Participants can choose between the #TV2223 Royal Blue Long-Sleeve Quarter Zip ($18) and/or the #TVKIT which includes the #TV2223 Royal Blue Long-Sleeve Quarter Zip and the #1443 HD Wristbands ($25.) 100% of the sales revenue will go to Terry & Family! When you purchase either product you will receive FREE SHIPPING on your ENTIRE order! This is the perfect opportunity to support Terry and get ready for the Spring Season. This special offer in only available from Friday, February 19 through Friday, February 26.



The OSI Catalog items that will be raffled throughout the day are pictured below. You can click on the image to go to Official Sports' online store and read more about these items.
Hope you can join us!

Royce Van Roekel
State Referee Administrator (SRA)

TVRA YouTube Playlist


We have been fortunate to be able to video record some of the Academy Guest Speakers and make their presentations available to you through our TVRA YouTube Channel Playlist. Click on the image below to view this year's presenters and more.

refs-YouTube-TVRA-Thumbnail Fouls and Misconduct - by Sandra Serafini (US Soccer)
Offside - by Kari Seitz (US Soccer)  
Positioning and Mechanics - by Don Wilbur (NISOA)
Application of Advantage - by Todd Abraham (NISOA)
Getting to the Next Level - by Kermit Quisenberry (US Soccer)

Previous Academy Speakers

For nearly 20 years now, the TVRA has brought to Iowa distinguished guest speakers and instructors who have represented FIFA, US Soccer, PRO, NISOA, NFHS, and AYSO during their careers. Some have been World Cup referees!
FIFA World Cup Referees / ARs
FIFA Assistant Referees
US Soccer Director of Referees
Margaret Domka Drew Fischer Greg Barkey Rick Eddy
Mark Geiger Edvin Jurisevic Tom Bobadilla Harrison Shamberg
Brian Hall Kim Oberle Nate Clement Paul Tamberino
Corey Rockwell Chris Penso George Gansner  
Kari Seitz Tori Penso Kermit Quisenberry  
Kevin Stott Alex Prus Tom Supple  
  Ali Saheli    
  Ricardo Salazar    
  Sandra Serafini    
  Ted Unkel    
  Terry Vaughn    

National Referees

FIFA Futsal Referee


Eric Boria Jason Krnac Todd Abraham
Jerry Cova   Ken Andres
Chuck Locke   Gary Huber
Farhad Mansourian   Cliff McCrath
Jonathan Meersman   Mike Oliver
Faith Rossi   John Puglisi
Herb Silva   Don Wilbur
J.P. Spicer-Escalante    
Peter Stilling    

Support the Academy by attending the Academy!

Example Bottom Ad

Example Bottom Ad 2


6200 Aurora Ave., Suite 607E
Urbandale, IA 50322
Tel: 515.252.6363

©2021 Iowa Soccer Association    HomeSitemap | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use