Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

Annual Awards

annual awards

Young Referees of the Year: Every August, the State Youth Referee Administrator (SYRA) will call for nominations for Iowa’s Young Male and Female Referees of the Year (ROY) to be submitted by September 1. If you would like to nominate a youth referee

  • Young ROY requirements are typically listed on the USYS nomination form.
  • Consider those promising youth referees you observed last Fall and will see this Spring, complete the form, and submit your completed form(s) to the SYRA before September 1.
  • In the fall, the IRC will review the nominations and select a young male and a young female referee of the year as the state-level winners.
  • State winners' nominations are then sent to the Midwest Region for consideration and possible regional honor/selection.
  • The winners from each USYS region are then recognized at USYS Awards Gala held annually in conjunction with the coaches convention. You can learn more about the process here.

Current Awardees

  • 2021 Young Referee of the Year, Male: Jacob Stevens
  • 2021 Young Referee of the Year, Female: Ella Anliker
  • 2021 Adult Referee of the Year: Esad Omanovic
Past Winners - Youth Referee of the Year
  • Morgan Wickman (2019)
  • Blake Read (2019)
  • Lindsey Alexander (2018)
  • Matt Neuhalfen (2018)
  • Nejra Vatres (2017)
  • Tyler Franke (2017)
  • Miranda Thelen (2015)
  • Jake Larson (2015)
  • Mark Jackson (2006)
  • Ramsey Tesdell (2005)
  • Ryan Rink (2004)
  • Audra Robinson (2004)
  • Chris Civitate (2003)
  • Katja Koroleva (2002)
  • Landis Wiley (2001)
  • Tyler Eason (2000)
  • Mike Post (1999)
  • Terry Vaughn (1995)
Past Winners - Adult Referee of the Year
  • Amos Purcell (2019)
  • Royce Van Roekel (2018)
  • Rob Sorey (2017)
  • Landis Wiley (2008)
  • Hidajet Tica (2007)
  • Doug Jotzke (2006)
  • Dan Waskel (2005)
  • Naser Sinanovic (2004)
  • Phil Sinnwell (2002)
  • Faith Rossi (2000)